

PA House of Representatives Harrisburg, PA

July 22, 2015

Governor Wolf 225 Main Capitol Harrisburg, PA 17120

Dear Governor Wolf:

The purpose of this correspondence is to request an Executive Order, issued by your office, to allow Pennsylvania National Guard recruiters and personnel to carry firearms in the performance of their duties. Furthermore, we request that Adjutant General Joseph authorize PA National Guard recruiters to carry firearms, by making such firearms eligible under "uniform of the day" practices and policies.

Currently, six state governors have authorized similar practices since the tragic deaths of five military personnel at two military installations in Tennessee last week, and more governors are expected to issue similar executive orders. Providing for the safety of our military personnel within the borders of our own country is very much a concern to the residents of this state and our great nation. Therefore, the General Assembly will work with our congressional delegation to address the federal aspects of this important issue, via a House resolution sponsored by Representative Martina White. In regard to our PA National Guard troops, though, it is within the power of the Governor to address this issue, in part, at the state level. Therefore, we respectfully request that your office address this matter in a timely manner.

If you would like to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact our offices. Thank you for your time, efforts and considerations on this important request.

Sincerely,

Stephen E. Barrar, Majority Chairman

Veterans Affairs & Emergency Preparedness Committee

160th Legislative District

Chris Sainato, Minority Chairman

Veterans Affairs & Emergency Preparedness Committee

ET Unza Mike Turzai 28th Legislative District Dave Reed 62nd Legislative District Leslie Acosta 197th Legislative District Louise Bishop 192nd Legislative Distict Stephen Bloom 199th Legislative District Karen Boback 11 th Legislative District Rosemary Frown
189th Legislative District Frank Burns 72nd Legislative District

Martin Causer

Becky Corbin 155th Legislative District

Dom Costa

21st Legislative District

van Cutler

100th Legislative District

Gary Day 187th Legislative District

Russ Diamond

102nd Legislative District

Gene Digirolamo

18th Legislative District

Cris Dush
66th Legislative District

Joe Emrick

137th Legislative District

Eli Evankovich



Garth Everett 84th Legislative District

Frank Farry 142nd Legislative District

37th Legislative District

10th Legislative District

Mauree Gingrich

101st Legislative District

Todshall

Robert Godshall

53rd Legislative District

Keith Greiner

43rd Legislative District

196th Legislative District

Julie Harhart 183rd Legislative District Patrick Harkins 1st Legislative District Kate Harper 61st Legislative District Adam Harris 82nd Legislative District Doyle Herfley 122nd Legislative District Susan Helm 104th Legislative District Tim Hennessey 26th Legislative District David Hickernell 98th Legislative District

Kristin Phillips-Hill 93rd Legislative District

Barry Jozwiak 5th Legislative District
Lee James 64 th Legislative District
Aaron Kaufer 120th Legislative District
Rob Kauffman W 89th Legislative District
Fred Keller 85th Legislative District
Mark Keller 86 th Legislative District
Thomas Killion 168th Legislative District
Hate Klunk 169th Legislative District
Jerry Knowles 124th Legislative District

Frien 751

William Kortz 38th Legislative District

Tim Krieger
57th Legislative District

Mark Longietti
7th Legislative District

111th Legislative District

David Maloney 130th Legislative District

14th Legislative District

Ron Marsico

105th Legislative District

107th Legislative District

Jan Potato
Daryl Metcaffe 12 th Legislative District
Carl Metzgar 69 th Legislative District
David Millard 109th Legislative District
109 Legislative District
Butt R. Miller
Brett Miller 41 st Legislative District
D'varo Milne
Duane Milne 167 th Legislative District
Wan Marl
Dan Moul 91 st Legislative District
thomes Mant
Thomas Murt 152 nd Legislative District
Mand Misse
Mark Mustio
44 th Legislative District
FLAN
Tedd Nesbit
8 th Legislative District

Bernie O'Neill 29th Legislative District bulander Donna Oberlander 63rd Legislative District son Ortitay 46th Legislative Distric 115th Legislative District John Payne 106th Legislative District Michael Peifer
139th Legislative District

60th/Legislative/District

Kathy Raps 65th Legislative District

Mike Reese

Brad Pose Brad Roae 6th Legislative District Rick Saccone 39th Legislative District Tommy Sankey 73rd Legislative District James Santora 163rd Legislative District Stan Saylor 94th Legislative District Paul Schemet 90th Legislative District

Curtis Sonney 4th Legislative District

131st Legislative District

Craig Staats

145th Legislative District

Will Tallman 193 rd Legislative District	
John/Kaylor 177th Legislative District	
Mike Tobash 125 th Legislative District	
Marcy Toepel 147 th Legislative District Dan Truitt 156 th Legislative District	
Mike Vereb 28th Legislative District	
Ryan Warner 52 nd Legislative District Watson	

Katharine Watson 144th Legislative District

Jeff Wheeland 83rd Legislative District

Martina White 170 th Legislative District
Matt Basker
Matt Baker 68 th Legislative District
Kerry Benninghoff 171st Legislative District
Lynda Schlegel Culver 108th Legislative District
Matt Gabler 75 th Legislative District
Mark Gillen 128 th Legislative District
Steven Mentzer 97 th Legislative District
Marshente Juni
Marguerie Quinn 143th Legislative District
Yllie Y Tyle
Muka Bagan

Mike Regan 92nd Legislative District

Josse Topper
8th Legislative District

Jim Cox

129th Legislative District

Parke Wentling 17th Legislative District

Judy Ward 80th Legislative District

Harry Readshaw
36th Legislative District

Nick Miccarelli

62nd Legislative District

Micarell