KERRY A. BENNINGHOFF 1718 LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

HO MAIN CAPITOL PO BOX 202171 HARRISBURG, DA 17120-2171 PHONE: (717) 783-1918 HAX: (717) 782-2913

- C3 140 W. HIGH STRUET BELLEFONTE, PA 16823 PHOME: (814) 255-1300 LAX: (814) 355-3523
- E) 77 N. MAIN STREET PO BOX 592 REEDSVILLE, PA 17084 PHONE: (717) 667-1175 FAX (717) 667-6025



House of Representatives

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Harrisburg

July 31, 2020

Majority Leader

E-MAIL; kbenning@pahousegop.com WEB; kerrybenninghoff.com

Francis M. Majikes President, Board of Directors Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association 550 Gettysburg Road Mechanicsburg, PA 17055

Dear Mr. Majikes:

We write today to ask that you reverse or modify your decision to not allow spectators at Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association (PIAA)-sanctioned events during the fall athletic season.

As you know, interscholastic sports provide a unique opportunity for students to socialize, learn the importance of teamwork, and gain worldly experience outside of the classroom. In this regard, we are glad to see the PIAA pave the way for sports to open this fall.

However, without spectators—especially parents—able to watch their children and community members succeed on the field, something of the experience is lost. It should come as no surprise to you that parents in all of our districts are irate and disheartened by your recent policy decision that precludes them from watching their children in-person during the fall athletic period.

The parents of these students have supported their children and, often times, the school sports team in various ways during the student's journey and there is a deep satisfaction from the ability to watch their loved ones compete in something they value.

While we understand that you feel constrained by the Governor's orders in this regard, we wish to remind you that PIAA is an independent agency that has the ability to think outside the box to come up with a commonsense solution that can allow both sports to proceed as normal while, at a minimum, allowing parents of students to watch their loved ones in person.

At a time when folks have had the five-month long experience of social distancing and protecting themselves and others from a contagious virus, it makes no sense that people might be less safe sitting in the football stands or around the high school track at a soccer match, with appropriate modifications, than in the aisles of their local mega retailer.

It has been reported that the PIAA remains open to changing its current no spectator policy at its August 26, 2020 meeting.

We would hope that if no accommodation can be made for the public at large to attend PIAA events, that at least some modification be made for parents of students.

Kerry Ar Benning ?

Kerry Benninghoff Majority Leader 171st Legislative District

Stephen Barrar 160th Legislative District

Rosemary Brown

189th Legislative District

58th Legislative District

Aaron Bernstine 10th Legislative District

Martin Causer Majority Policy Chair 67th Legislative District

Mat Causer

Gary Day 187th Legislative District

Torren Ecker

Eric Davanzo

Timothy Bonner 8th Legislative District

Bud Cook 49th Legislative District

Jim Cox 129th Legislative District Joe Emrick 137th Legislative District

193rd Legislative District

Stephanie Borowicz 76th Legislative District

Themas Schefel activer

Lynda Culver 108th Legislative District

mindy of the Mindy Fee 37th Legislative District

Robert Brooks 54th Legislative District Tonathan A Fritz

Jonathan Fritz 111th Legislative District

Valerie Gaydos 44th Legislative District

Mark Gillen 128th Legislative District

Barbara Sleim

Barbara Gleim 199th Legislative District

James Gregory 80th Legislative District

Keith J. Dreiner

Keith Greiner 43rd Legislative District

Seth Grove
196th Legislative District

Marcia M. Hala

Marcia Hahn 138th Legislative District Oge M. Hiffley

Doyle Heffley 122nd Legislative District

Susan C. Helmo

Susan Helm 104th Legislative District

Tim Hennessey
26th Legislative District

David Hickernell 98th Legislative District

Pinh dim

Rich Irvin 81st Legislative District

R. Le James

R. Lee James 64th Legislative District

Mike Jones 93rd Legislative District

Rob Kauffman 89th Legislative District Mak & Alla

Mark Keller 86th Legislative District

Koto A. Glunk

Kate Klunk 169th Legislative District

Jemy Kunder

Jerry Knowles
124th Legislative District

(nyan Mackeyii

Ryan Mackenzie 134th Legislative District

Kurt Masser Majority Caucus Administrator 107th Legislative District

Daryl Metcalfe
12th Legislative District

Natalie Mihalek
40th Legislative District

Brett Miller 41st Legislative District Lori a. Mizgorski

Lori Mizgorski 30th Legislative District

Marci Mustelle

Marci Mustello 11th Legislative District

Eric Nelson 57th Legislative District

Timothy O'Neal 48th Legislative District

Donna Oberlander

Donna Oberlander

Majority Policy Chair 63rd Legislative District

Jason Ortitay

Jason Ortitay 46th Legislative District

Clinton Owlett 68th Legislative District

Tina Pickett
110th Legislative District

THAI

Todd Polinchock 144th Legislative District

Jack Rader 176th Legislative District

James Rigby 71st Legislative District

Brad Roae

Brad Roae 6th Legislative District

WSA

Greg Rothman 87th Legislative District

David Rowe 85th Legislative District

Francis X. Ryan 101st Legislative District

Francis X. Pagan

Tommy Sankey
73rd Legislative District

Paul Schemmel
90th Legislative District

01

Louis Schmitt, Jr. 79th Legislative District

Craig Staats
145th Legislative District

Cany T. State

James Struzzi II 62nd Legislative District

Kathleen Tomlinson 18th Legislative District

Tarah Toohil

Parch Corohil

116th Legislative District

Jeff Wheeland 83rd Legislative District

David Zimmerman 99th Legislative District

CC: Tom Wolf, Governor, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania