KERRY A. BENNINGHOFF 1718 LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

HO MAIN CAPITÔL. HARRISBURG, J'A 17120-2171 PHONE: (717) 783-1918 CAX (717) 782-2513

- □ 140 W. BIGH STREET BELL EFONTE, PA 16823 PHONE: (814) 353-1300 FAX: (814) 355-3523
- 77 N. MAIN STRUCT PO BOX 592 REFERENCE, PA 17084 PHONE: (717) 667-1175 EAX: (717) 667-6025



House of Representatives

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Harrisburg

August 3, 2020

The Honorable Tom Wolf Governor Commonwealth of Pennsylvania 508 Main Capitol Building Harrisburg, PA 17120

Dear Governor Wolf:

We write today to ask that you modify your unilaterally-imposed crowd size limitations to allow spectators at Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association (PIAA)-sanctioned events during the fall athletic season.

As you know, interscholastic sports provide a unique opportunity for students to socialize, learn the importance of teamwork, and gain worldly experience outside of the classroom. In this regard, we are glad to see the PIAA pave the way for sports to open this fall.

However, without spectators—especially parents—able to watch their children and community members succeed on the field, something of the experience is lost. It should come as no surprise to you that parents in all of our districts are irate and disheartened by your recent crowd size limitation changes that led PIAA to adopt a policy that precludes parents from watching their children in-person during the fall athletic period.

The parents of these students have supported their children and, often times, the school sports team in various ways during the student's journey and there is a deep satisfaction from the ability to watch their loved ones compete in something they value.

At a time when folks have had the five-month long experience of social distancing and protecting themselves and others from a contagious virus, it makes no sense that people might be less safe sitting in the football stands or around the high school track at a soccer match, with appropriate modifications, than in the aisles of their local mega retailer.

On July 31, 2020, you reminded Pennsylvanians that you are looking to keep decisions as to school reopening local, saying, "School governing boards and administrators will determine if school buildings reopen and if classes resume in person, remotely, or a combination of the two."

Majority Leader

E-MAIL: kberning@nahousegop.com WEB: kerrybenninghoff.com

Should not similar allowances be made for whether spectators should be allowed at a local school's sporting events?

We would hope that if no accommodation can be made for the public at large to attend PIAA events, then at least some modification be made for parents of students.

Keep in mind, these parents pay property taxes to fund their local school districts, which allows these teams to function and their athletic facilities to operate. It is inconceivable that you would deprive these hardworking taxpayers of something they have helped finance.

In addition, allowing parents to attend these sporting events just makes common sense. Parents might be needed should an injury occur to give consent to provide treatment or otherwise interact with their child during an event.

Precluding their attendance impinges upon the ability of both parents and those involved with conducting these sporting events from carrying out their proper administration.

PIAA said it remains open to changing its current no spectator policy at its August 26, 2020, meeting should you change your guidance. We would hope any change in your policy would be communicated prior to PIAA's August 26, 2020, meeting so the proper policy changes can be implemented.

KERRY A. BENNINGHOFF

Majority Leader

171st Legislative District

Stephen Barrar

160th Legislative District

Timothy Bonner

8th Legislative District

54th Legislative District

Aaron Bernstine 10th Legislative District

Stephanie Borowicz

76th Legislative District

Rosemary Brown

Robert Brooks

189th Legislative District

Mat + Causer

Martin Causer Majority Policy Chair 67th Legislative District

Bud Cook 49th Legislative District

Jim Cox 129th Legislative District

Themada Schefel author

Lynda Culver 108th Legislative District

Eric Davanzo
58th Legislative District

Gary Day 187th Legislative District

Torren Ecker 193rd Legislative District

Joe Emrick 137th Legislative District

Le Tomish

mindy & Fre

Mindy Fee 37th Legislative District

Tonathan A Fritz

Jonathan Fritz 111th Legislative District

Valin S. Comples

Valerie Gaydos 44th Legislative District

mark Hillen

Mark Gillen 128th Legislative District

Barbara Gleim
199th Legislative District

Jan V. Arry

James Gregory 80th Legislative District

Keith Greiner

43rd Legislative District

Seth Grove
196th Legislative District

Marcia M. Halm

Marcia Hahn 138th Legislative District

Coyle M. Heffley

Doyle Heffley 122nd Legislative District

Susan C. Helmo

Susan Helm 104th Legislative District

Tim Hennessey

Tim Hennessey 26th Legislative District

David Hickernell

98th Legislative District

Rich dim

Rich Irvin 81st Legislative District

R. Lee James

64th Legislative District

Mike Jones 93rd Legislative District Lot Karffu

Rob Kauffman 89th Legislative District

Mark Keller

Mark Keller 86th Legislative District

Koto A. Hunk_

Kate Klunk 169th Legislative District

Jeny Krender

Jerry Knowles 124th Legislative District

Ryan Mackeys

Ryan Mackenzie 134th Legislative District

Kurt Masser Majority Caucus Administrator 107th Legislative District

Daryl Metcalfe 12th Legislative District

Natalie Mihalek 40th Legislative District Butt R. Miller

Brett Miller 41st Legislative District

Lori a. Mizgorski

Lori Mizgorski 30th Legislative District

Marci Mustello
11th Legislative District

In A Jelen

Eric Nelson 57th Legislative District

Timothy O'Neal 48th Legislative District

Donna Operlander

Donna Oberlander Majority Policy Chair 63rd Legislative District

Jason Ortitay 46th Legislative District

Clinton Owlett 68th Legislative District Time Pickett

Tina Pickett 110th Legislative District

Todd Polinchock 144th Legislative District

Jack Rader 176th Legislative District

James Rigby 71st Legislative District

Brad Roae 6th Legislative District

MSP

Greg Rothman 87th Legislative District

David Rowe 85th Legislative District

Francis X. Payan

Francis X. Ryan 101st Legislative District

Tomo

Tommy Sankey 73rd Legislative District

Paul Schemmel 90th Legislative District

Louis Schmitt, Jr. 79th Legislative District

Conj. tak

Craig Staats 145th Legislative District

James Struzzi II 62nd Legislative District

Kathleen Tomlinson 18th Legislative District Parch Poohil

Tarah Toohil 116th Legislative District

Jeff Wheeland 83rd Legislative District

David Zimmerman 99th Legislative District

cc: Dr. Robert A. Lombardi, PIAA Executive Director

Dr. Rachel Levine, Secretary, Pennsylvania Department of Health