Major Named to Three House Committees
HARRISBURG – Rep. Abby Major (R-Armstrong/Westmoreland) today announced she has been appointed to the Housing and Community Development, Liquor Control and Transportation committees for the 2023-24 Legislative Session.

As part of the assignments, she was named Republican vice chairman of the Housing and Community Development Committee and secretary of the Transportation Committee.

“I’m eager to continue my service on the Housing and Community Development, and Liquor Control committees this session,” Major said. “Blight and redevelopment are two important issues facing my district. We must continue to work to help bring our area back to life and make it attractive for both businesses and people. In addition, I am pleased to have been appointed to the Transportation Committee. The condition of many of our roads and bridges needs addressed. We need to look at creative solutions and not hiking the gas tax.”

Housing and Community Development reviews legislation affecting the state’s cities and towns including housing; urban redevelopment; economic development; land use planning and zoning; growth management; infrastructure financing; and services such as police, fire, sewage and water.

The Liquor Control Committee is responsible for issues relating to the administration of alcoholic beverage licenses and the sale and distribution of alcoholic beverages.

The House Transportation Committee is responsible for reviewing vehicle code regulations, mandatory insurance and coverage minimums, rules of the road, parking and local enforcements, mass transit codes, rail issues, PennDOT planning, oversight of the Pennsylvania Turnpike, airports, scenic highways and highway naming.

The 60th Legislative District covers Bethel, Burrell, Cadogan, East Franklin, Gilpin, Kiskiminetas, Manor, North Buffalo, Parks, South Bend and South Buffalo townships and Apollo, Applewold, Ford City, Ford Cliff, Freeport, Leechburg, Manorville, North Apollo and West Kittanning boroughs in Armstrong County and Allegheny Township, East Vandergrift, Hyde Park, Vandergrift and West Leechburg boroughs, and part of the city of Lower Burrell in Westmoreland County.

Representative Abby Major
60th District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Tracy Polovick